Facing out towards a panoramic view of the St. Michaels Harbor, the Log Canoe Inn is named in honor of the historic log canoe sailing vessels, built in the harbors of the Chesapeake Bay. Each of our six rooms and suites are named after one of these historic sailing log canoes. Located at the end of Carpenter Street, and just a short walk to Carpenter Street Saloon, a true "local" bar, you may even run into some log canoe sailors, especially during the summer regatta season.
The Log Canoe Inn offers waterfront rooms and suites, each with a stunning view of the Saint Michaels harbor. Located in the heart of the historic district, our property is within a comfortable walking distance to everywhere in town, but still sits back far enough to maintain a private and tranquil atmosphere.
Built in 1790, our main house was primarily a private residence. From 1921 until 1930, it served as the original clubhouse of the Miles River Yacht Club. Today, our main house still maintains its antique furnishings and original long leaf yellow pine floors, to keep the same history and charm it held over two hundred years ago. During the summer months, our guests can enjoy the view on our spacious lawn by relaxing down by the water, while during the winter months they can enjoy the ambiance and warmth of the fireplace.